Morrow Essay Contest

The William Morrow Essay Contest is endowed by the Hon. Mr. Justice William Stevenson in memory of the late Mr. Justice Morrow.


  1. The essays should be on a topic of current legal interest.
  2. For purposes of the category of Law or Administration of Justice in the North, the North includes the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory.
  3. The criteria used in judging will be (1) Originality, (2) Accuracy, and (3) Writing Style.
  4. Papers must be typed double-spaced and should comply with the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation. Maximum length of essays is 50 pages.
  5. The competition is open to all undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in the faculties of law at the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary, excluding members of the Editorial Committee of the Alberta Law Review who are responsible for judging the submissions. Articling students in Alberta, the Northwest Territories, and the Yukon Territory are also eligible to submit papers.
  6. Papers submitted for courses in Law School are eligible.
  7. The Editorial Board reserves the right to award an Honourable Mention to deserving entries.
  8. The Editorial Committee reserves the right to award or not to award the prizes in their discretion.
  9. The Alberta Law Review reserves the right to first publication of the papers submitted. Previously published papers and papers concurrently submitted to other publications are not eligible for the contest. Only one paper per category may be submitted.
  10. The author’s name should not appear on the paper, but rather on a separate cover letter indicating the author's home address and university or firm.
  11. Papers commissioned by another organization must be accompanied by written permission from that organization.
  12. The deadline for entries is January 13, 2017.

Entries may be submitted to:

William Morrow Essay Contest
Alberta Law Review
c/o Faculty of Law, University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2H5

Phone:(780) 492-5559
Fax: (780) 492-4924



There are three categories in the contest as follows:

General Essays

First Prize: $1,000.00
Second Prize: $500.00

Notes & Case Comments

First Prize: $500.00

Law or Administration of Justice in the North

First Prize: $500.00